Not Just Another Pretty Face…

I know it’s been a little while since I posted last. Unfortunately. I’ve been busy with activities of daily living. And like the commercial says., life comes at you fast. I promised that when I finally. Competed the updated portrait of my wife I would keep you posted as to my progress. Well, I’m happy to inform you that despite a few distractions, stops, and starts, it’s done. This won’t be a lengthy post since I’ve already discussed my technique here. This is just to fully compare and contrast between my previous painting and the most recent effort.

Lolita, circa 1993; "Lolita", oil on canvas, 1995
Lolita, circa 1993; “Lolita”, oil on canvas, 1995

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a contrast between  my original painting and the photo of my wife that started it all…at the ripe old age of 23. A while  back I decided  I wanted to see how much my portrait skills had improved, hence the updated painting.  I chose a background color  closer to the color of the original photo, and  I could see right away that my  skin tones, contrasts of light and shadow,  as well as  my depiction of hair had all improved.

Then and Now...
Then and Now…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that I can see the two side by side, I realize that there are some aspects of the original painting that were pretty good also. All in all, I’d say it was a job well done. That’s pretty much gonna do it for this time.I promise that next go round I’ll have a much more in depth post where I’ll be discussing some of the philosophy behind my work. See you then.

Leave a Reply

